Travel bans and restrictions across the globe have made international travel trickier. And while travelers are looking inward for a domestic trip, that doesn’t mean there won’t be complications.
While there are few outright bans on traveling within the states, many have implemented their own restrictions and safety precautions.
It’s changing constantly, and we’ll do our best to keep you updated. Here’s what you need to know from states that have travel restrictions in place. If you don’t see a state listed, that means there aren’t any major entry restrictions or requirements.
Here are the states that currently have travel restrictions.
As of February 14, 2021, Alaska has ended the emergency order requiring visitors to present a negative COVID-19 test. Travelers no longer have to present a negative COVID-19 test when arriving in the state. The governor is encouraging people to get tested when arriving in Alaska. COVID-19 tests are now free for residents and visitors to the state.
A 14-day quarantine is required for travelers arriving from identified “hot-spots,” including New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, the city of New Orleans, and all international travelers.
Masks are required to be worn in public spaces.
California public health officials have recommended that visitors from out of state, including California residents, quarantine for 10 days after entering or returning to California.
San Francisco has put a mandatory, 10-day quarantine in place for people coming from outside the nine-county Bay Area region. Air passengers transiting on connecting flights at SFO and not staying overnight are exempt.
For other parts of California check the government website of the county or city you’re planning to visit.
Residents from the majority of the country cannot visit Connecticut – at least not without a lengthy quarantine.
Connecticut is restricting travelers from states with high coronavirus rates. Residents from any state with a positive rate of 10 per 100,000 or an area with a 10% or higher positivity rate within seven days will be required to quarantine for 10 days. for now, that includes most of the country.
Currently, the list of travelers exempt from the 10-day quarantine includes just New York, New Jersey, and Rhode Island.
Hawaii is now allowing travelers to come to the state without quarantining for 10 days if they present a negative COVID-19 test 72 hours prior to arrival in the state. Watch our YouTube video and see what it’s like for yourself.
But from testing requirements to ongoing restrictions on travel between the islands, it gets more complicated.
Kauai is requiring travelers to quarantine for 10-days with one exception. Travelers have an option to shorten the quarantine to three days. They must take the pre-arrival COVID-19 test required by the state of Hawaii. Then travelers must stay at an approved Enhanced Movement Quarantine (EMQ) “resort bubble” hotel for three days. After three days guests must take a post-travel COVID-19 test.
To travel to Maui and The Big Island (Hawai’i) you must take a COVID-19 test 72 hours before arrival.
For all of the requirements and what you need to know before your next trip to Hawaii, read our guides: Hawaii Covid-19 Test Travel Requirements: All of Your Questions Answered, and Hawaii Open For Travel: Everything You Need to Know to Get In
In its current stage of re-opening, Idaho is encouraging anyone coming to the state from an area with a high infection rate to self-quarantine for 14 days. Some counties are requiring masks to be worn indoors and in public spaces where social distancing is not possible.
The city of Chicago has issued an Emergency Travel Order for anyone traveling or returning to Chicago from states with a recent increase in COVID-19 cases. There are different restrictions based on which state you are from.
The travel order applies to anyone coming into the City of Chicago from designated states with a significant degree of community-wide spread of COVID-19. Anyone traveling from an orange state must obtain a negative COVID-19 test result no more than 72 hours prior to arrival in Chicago or quarantine for a 10-day period (or the duration of their time in Chicago, whichever is shorter). The map is updated every two weeks.
The rest of the state does not have any travel restrictions but masks are required and social distancing is highly encouraged.
There is a 14-day quarantine requirement for all visitors that have recently attended mass gatherings, or out-of-state events of 500 people or more, or internationally. The state also requires self-quarantine for anyone who has been on a cruise ship or river cruise.
Face masks are required in public, including outdoors in places where physical distancing isn’t possible.
If you want to visit Maine, you can either provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of arrival or quarantine for 10 days.
Maryland is encouraging all out of state visitors take a COVID-19 test within 72 hours prior to arriving in the state.
All visitors must complete the Massachusetts Travel Form prior to arrival unless visiting from a lower risk state. All visitors must either present a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours or quarantine for 10-days. If your test results are not in you will be required to quarantine until results are in. Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.
Those visiting Minnesota, and Minnesotans returning after traveling out of state, are asked to quarantine for 14 days after they arrive in the state.
Travelers coming to New Hampshire or residents returning to the state that have traveled outside of New England (Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island) must self-quarantine for 10 days. If you are asymptomatic and receive a negative COVID-19 test after seven days of quarantining you may shorten or end your quarantine.
New Jersey is requesting travelers coming to the state outside of the region (New York, Pennsylvania, and Delaware) to self-quarantine for at least ten days. If travelers receive a negative COVID-19 test they should still self-quarantine for seven days. The self-quarantine is voluntary but compliance is expected.
There is a mandatory 14-day quarantine for travelers coming from high-risk states which currently includes every state.
Everyone is required to wear a mask in public spaces except for when eating, drinking, exercising, or for medical requirements.
After months of requiring most travelers to quarantine for 14 days, New York has changed up its travel restrictions.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo recently announced new guidelines for any traveler heading to New York State from out of state, with a two-test requirement that provides a shorter quarantine period. Visitors from states bordering New York are exempt from the new requirements.
- For travelers who were in another state for more than 24 hours:
- Travelers must obtain a COVID-19 test within three days of departure from that state.
- Upon arrival in New York, the traveler must quarantine for three days.
- On day four of their quarantine, the traveler must take another COVID-19 test. If both tests are negative, the traveler may exit quarantine early upon receipt of the second negative diagnostic test.
- For travelers who were in another state for less than 24 hours:
- The traveler does not need a test prior to their departure from the other state, and does not need to quarantine upon arrival in New York State.
- However, the visitor must fill out travel information form upon entry into New York State, and take a COVID diagnostic test four days after their arrival in New York.
If a test comes back positive, local health departments will issue isolation orders and initiate contact tracing. The local health department will also contact the state the traveler came from, to make sure contact tracing happens there. All travelers have to fill out the traveler information form upon arrival into New York State.
There are currently no enforceable travel restrictions to North Carolina. But like many elected officials across the country, Gov. Roy Cooper is requesting that people limit nonessential travel.
Face masks are required in public spaces – both indoors and outdoors – when it is difficult to maintain six feet of separation. Exceptions are allowed for those with medical conditions, children under 11 years old, and people walking or exercising outdoors.
Those entering Ohio from states with positive testing rates of 15% or higher are advised to self-quarantine for 14-days. Currently, those states are Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia. The list will be updated weekly.
People arriving in Oregon from other states or countries, including returning Oregon residents, are asked to self-quarantine for 14 days after arrival. People should limit their interactions to their immediate household. This recommendation does not apply to individuals who cross state or country borders for essential travel.
Travelers over the age of 11 entering Pennsylvania must produce evidence of a negative COVID-19 test or self-quarantine for ten days. Travelers can quarantine for seven days if they get negative COVID-19 test results on or after day five of quarantine. This does not apply to those traveling to Pennsylvania for work or people transiting through the state.
All passengers must fill out a travel declaration form and present a negative molecular COVID-19 test (nasal or throat swab) from 72 hours prior to arrival. If proper documentation is not provided travelers will be required to quarantine for 14 days.
A curfew on the island is in effect daily from 11 pm to 5 am.
If you are traveling to Rhode Island from a state with a COVID-19 positivity rate higher than 5%, you are required to self-quarantine for 14 days or present a negative test taken 72 hours prior to arrival. You can find the positivity rate for each state on Johns Hopkins’ website.
U.S. Virgin Islands
The U.S. Virgin Islands reopened for tourism on Sept. 19. A negative COVID-19 test result taken no more than five days before travel must be presented upon arrival. Temperature checks and health screenings will also be administered on arrival.
If you are traveling to Vermont you will be required to quarantine for 14 days – or seven days followed by a negative COVID-19 test.
People arriving in Washington from other states or countries, including returning Washington residents, are asked to self-quarantine for 14 days after arrival. People should limit their interactions to their immediate household. This recommendation does not apply to individuals who cross state or country borders for essential travel.
Visitors to D.C. need to get a COVID-19 test 72 hours prior to arriving in D.C. If travelers are staying in D.C. for more than three days they need to get retested within three to five days. Tests are free at public testing sites. Visitors from a few states are exempt: Hawaii, Maryland, Vermont, and Virginia.
Traveling throughout the states might be easier than international travel, but that doesn’t mean it will come without restrictions. Make sure you know what’s required before you take off for your next domestic trip.