Advertiser Disclosure


From Australia to Vietnam, Countries are Banning or Restricting Travel

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. The content on this page is accurate as of the posting date; however, some of the offers mentioned may have expired. For more information check out our Advertising Disclosure.

It's not a good time to travel. But as airlines slash flights and countries, it's becoming logistically impossible.

To stop the spread of coronavirus, many countries around the world have imposed harsh restrictions on travelers. They run from mandatory quarantine periods to outright bans on all foreigners from entering the country. That's why the U.S. State Department issued a level 4 global travel advisory, urging Americans abroad to return home and stop all international travel.

“If you travel internationally, your travel plans may well be disrupted,” U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said Friday.

Here is a rundown of countries that have implemented measures to restrict travelers. As these bans and restrictions change daily, we'll do our best to keep this up-to-date.


Countries with Travel Bans


Any foreigners not residing in Argentina will not be allowed into the country until April 1, 2020.


Beginning Friday, March 20, only Australian citizens, residents, and their immediate family members will be allowed entry into the country.


The U.S. and Canada have agreed to shut down all non-essential travel across the border starting Saturday, March 21.


As of March 18, Chile's borders are closed for 14 days to everyone except citizens and permanent residents.

Costa Rica

Until at least April 11, only Costa Rican citizens, residents, and foreign diplomats will be allowed to enter the country.

Dominican Republic

Starting March 19, the Dominican Republic closed its borders to all incoming passengers for 15 days. Outbound flights will continue but are being greatly reduced.

Dutch Caribbean: Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Saba

All six islands of the Dutch Caribbean are no longer admitting non-residents. Flights departing the islands have mostly been canceled and no departing flights are expected after March 22, 2020.

Europe: All 26 Schengen Countries

The European Union Wednesday, March 18, that it will ban all travelers, excluding citizens and residents, from entering into any of the countries in the Schengen Area for 30 days. Each of the individual 26 Schengen countries are enforcing that ban. It does not include the United Kingdom or Ireland.


Fiji has closed its borders to anyone who has visited the United States, Europe, China, South Korea, and Iran within 14 days of trying to enter Fiji. This includes those simply transiting through Fiji.

French Polynesia

All non-resident travelers are banned from entry into French Polynesia, which includes Tahiti and Bora Bora.


Hungary has barred entry to all non-residents.


The U.S. and Mexico have agreed to shut down all non-essential travel across the border starting Saturday, March 21.


All international travel in and out of Morrocco has been suspended.

New Zealand

New Zealand has indefinitely closed its borders to all non-citizens and non-residents.


Oman has suspended all tourist visas until further notice.


Starting March 15, Peru has enacted 15 days of mandatory quarantine. All international borders have been closed and interprovincial travel has been suspended. All non-residents are expected to abide by the quarantine and remain in Peru until further notice.


Russia has banned entry of all foreign nationals through May 1, 2020. The ban excludes diplomats, airplane crew members, permanent residents of the Russian Federation, or transit passengers.

South Africa

South Africa has banned all travelers who have recently visited the United States, South Korea, China, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom, and Iran. Visas for citizens from these countries have been canceled and previously granted visas have been revoked. Any foreign national that has visited any of these countries in the past 20 days will have their visa request denied.

United Arab Emirates

The U.A.E. has suspended issuing all tourist and work visas. It's also temporarily banned UAE residents from traveling outside the country.


Countries with Quarantines


Ireland is requiring anyone entering the country to self-quarantine or self-isolate for 14-days upon arrival.


Starting Saturday, March 21, Singapore is requiring all visitors to enter a mandatory 14-day quarantine upon arrival.


All travelers to Vietnam will be subject to enhanced screening upon arrival and mandatory 14-day quarantine.


Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Flight Alerts

Cheap international and domestic flight deal email alerts

Get Cheap Flight Alerts