Last Chance to Earn a Free Year of Platinum Elite Status with Huge Marriott Offers!
Amex Marriott Cards

Last Chance to Earn a Free Year of Platinum Elite Status with Huge Marriott Offers!

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. For more information check out our Advertising Disclosure.

Editors Note: The offers mentioned in this post are now expired. Please see below for current offers. 

 

Back in October, American Express and Marriott launched great new offers on both their Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant American Express Card and the Marriott Bonvoy Business American Express Card!

Both cards are currently offering a complimentary year of their excellent Platinum Elite status, which starts on Feb. 1, 2021, and runs through Jan. 31, 2022. That status gets you free room upgrades, free daily breakfast. And you’ll even get your choice of a Marriott choice benefit, which is a rarity with credit card offers like this one.

But this offer is only available for a limited time and it expires next week on Jan. 13, 2021. So now is your last chance to apply and lock in Platinum Elite status for the next year. 

And just what you get with each Marriott American Express Card varies, so keep reading for a full breakdown of the benefits.

 

Full Benefits of the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant American Express Card

Welcome Offer: Earn 75,000 bonus points after you spend $3,000 in the first three months of card membership.

$300 Statement Credits: Enjoy up to $300 in statement credits each year of card membership for eligible purchases at participating Marriott Bonvoy hotels.

Free Night Certificate: Receive a free night certificate each year on your cardmember anniversary for properties that cost 50,000 points or less.

Priority Pass Lounge Access: Enjoy unlimited airport lounge visits when you enroll in Priority Pass™ Select membership. This comes complimentary with the card.

Earn 6x Points: For each dollar spent at all Marriott Bonvoy hotels.

Earn 3x Points: at U.S. restaurants and on flights booked directly with airlines.

Earn 2x Points: on all other purchases.

$450 Annual Fee (not waived for the first year of card membership)

 

Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant

 

Click Here to learn more about the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant American Express Card. 

 

Full Benefits of the Marriott Bonvoy Business American Express Card

Welcome Offer: Earn 75,000 bonus points after you spend $3,000 in the first 3 months of card membership.

Free Night Certificate: Receive a free night certificate each year on your cardmember anniversary for properties that cost 35,000 points or less. Earn an additional free night certificate after you spend $60K on your card in a calendar year.

Earn 6x Points: For each dollar spent at all Marriott Bonvoy hotels.

Earn 4x Points: at U.S. restaurants, U.S. gas stations, wireless telephone services purchased directly from U.S. service providers, and on U.S. purchases for shipping.

Earn 2x Points: on all other purchases.

$125 Annual Fee (not waived for the first year of card membership)

 

Marriott Bonvoy Business Card

 

Click Here to learn more about the Marriott Bonvoy Business American Express Card. 

 

What Do You Get With Marriott Platinum Elite Status?

The most exciting part of these new offers is the complimentary year of Marriott’s top-tier Platinum Elite status. Normally, earning Platinum Elite status requires staying 50 eligible nights at a Marriott hotel. So earning the status just for holding one of these two credit cards is a fantastic deal.

Holding this status will unlock a ton of benefits, including enhanced room upgrades, complimentary breakfast, and the ability to earn 50% more points on stays, to name a few.

 

Screen Shot 2020 10 15 at 1.57.29 PM

 

Make sure to check out the full list of Platinum Elite benefits on the Marriott website.

 

Who is Eligible to Apply for these Limited Time Offers?

Marriott has co-branded cards that are issued from both Chase and American Express thanks in part to the Marriott and Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) merger which happened a few years ago. And because of that, knowing if you’re eligible to open a Marriott credit card can be confusing. Here is what you need to know.

You will not be eligible for this offer if you have or have had the legacy Marriott Bonvoy Chase business cards (which they no longer issue) within the past 30 days.

You also will not be eligible to earn the welcome bonus on these cards if you have acquired the Marriott Bonvoy Boundless Credit Card or the Marriott Bonvoy Bold Credit Card from Chase, within the last 90 days.

Finally, if you received a new cardmember bonus offer in the last 24 months on the Marriott Bonvoy Boundless Credit Card or the Marriott Bonvoy Bold Credit Card from Chase, you will not be eligible.

If none of these statements apply to you, you should be eligible to apply. 

 

Bottom Line

This is a fantastic offer to earn a free year of Marriott’s top tier elite status. Just for holding the status, you’ll get free upgrades, free breakfast, and a ton of other benefits.

But this offer is on both the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant and the Marriott Bonvoy Business cards is only available for a limited time through Jan. 13, 2021.

And make sure to head to our Top Credit Cards offers page for all of the latest and greatest offers.

 

Bonvoy Brilliant

 

Click Here to learn more about the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant American Express Card. 

Editorial Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

9 Responses

  • What level of status will you be after the 1 year? I’ve wondered about signing up for this or the Hyatt Aspire which I think you keep the Platinum status.

  • Hi there! I applied for the card on Jan 13, was approved the same day. They gave be Gold status right away, but today is Feb 1 (5:30pm EST) and I don’t see Platinum on my account.. any recommendations?

  • Does the platinum status automatically reflect in your Marriott Bonvoy account? I signed up for the card early January, and it’s already Feb 1 but I don’t see the platinum status reflected.

      • I checked my status and it is still not reflected yet in my account too. Since, the welcome bonus stated the platinum status starts from Feb 1 and if it reflects after couple weeks, would we get extended the amount of few weeks that we lost?

      • My Marriott Bonvoy account also is not reflecting platinum status. According to the wording “Both cards are currently offering a complimentary year of their excellent Platinum Elite status, which starts on Feb. 1, 2021, and runs through Jan. 31, 2022”. **WHICH STARTS ON FEB 1, 2021.** Saying it’s going to “hit your account in the next few weeks” isn’t acceptable. If you paid for the card, you should receive the benefits owed, when due.

          • I called American Express first, who directed me to Marriott, who directed me back to American Express. It’s a mess. And at the end of it they’re still just saying “it might be delayed”. Very frustrating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *